Facts and Figures

Country name Conventional Long Form: Republic of Zimbabwe

Conventional Short Form: Zimbabwe

Government Type: Parliamentary Democracy

Capital: Harare

Administrative Divisions: 8 provinces and 2 cities* with provincial status; Bulawayo*, Harare*, Manicaland, Mashonaland Central, Mashonaland East, Mashonaland West, Masvingo, Matabeleland North, Matabeleland South and Midlands.

Independence: 18 April 1980

National Day: 18 April

Legal System: Mixture of Roman –Dutch and English Common Law

Suffrage: 18 years of age, universal

Executive Branch: Chief of State

Executive President H.E Cde. E.D Mnangagwa (since 24 November 2017); The President is both the chief of State and head of Government.

The President appoints Co-Vice Presidents and the Cabinet

Co-Vice Presidents since 28 December 2017

(1) Rtd. Gen. Constantino Guveya Dominic Nyikadzino Chiwenga 

(2) Cde. Kembo C.D Mohadi 


Cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the President.

Elections: Presidential candidates nominated with a nomination paper signed by at least 10 registered voters (at least one from each province) and elected by popular vote for a 5-year term.

Legislative Branch

Bicameral Parliament

(1) The Senate

  • 66 elected members from the 60 Senatorial Constituencies (6 from each of the 10 provinces).
  • 5 members appointed by the State President.
  • 16 Chiefs elected from the Chief's electoral colleges, 2 from each of the eight rural provinces.
  • The President and Deputy President of the National Chiefs Council elected by the National Council of Chiefs.

(2) The House of Assembly

  • 210 members from the 210 House of Assembly Constituencies.

The Attorney General sits in both houses as an ex-officio member.

Judicial Branch: Supreme Court; High Court

Political Parties

Zimbabwe is a multiparty democracy and is home to tens of political parties.